Department of Economics


The Department of Economics established in the year 1970, is one of the oldest departments in this University. Since its inception, the department has been training students for M.A. (Entire Economics) Degree and for the research degree, viz. M.Phil and Ph.D. The faculty members of the department are specialized in different branches of economics. The present strength of the students in various academic programme of the department is 200.

The department offers the following programmes:

  1. Master of Arts (M.A. - Economics)
  2. Master of Philosophy (M.Phil) in Economics
  3. Doctorate of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Economics

The Department of Economics offers two years (Four Semester) Master degree course in Economics. Every year about 60 students (50 in regular and 10 in higher fees) are admitted to M.A. course. Each semester has 22 credit points. We have introduces CBSC (Choice Base Credit System) since 2011. As per the UGC guideline, we have introduced intra-disciplinary papers like Accountancy, Agri-Business, Research Methodology, Computer Application in Economics Analysis and Indian Political System as part of the course.
To date the department has over 35 research projects to its credit. Over 125 research students have been awarded Ph.D and M.Phil degrees.
The Department has its own website

The department is also involved in conducting capacity building workshops and seminars for the students who have sought admissions into various courses. These types of workshops and seminars have become a regular feature not only for the students but also for the teachers of economics in South Gujarat and elsewhere in Gujarat.

The present and past faculties of the department have been and are continuously engaged in research and other academic activities.

Contact us:

The Head of the Department :    Dr. S. Srinivasa Rao
Direct : 0261-2201163
0261-2227141-2227146, EXT: 1163 
FAX: 0261-2227312
Mail :