Department of Education



 Education Department of this VNSG University has its origin from 1973. Its Mission statement is:

    “Out of conviction that education is the mean by which human circumstances can be improved. Department of Education prepares professionals who have the commitment and competences needed to help people acquire knowledge, skills and understandings to enable them to participate in and contribute to a complex changing society. To achieve this mission, the Department is committed to excellence in teaching, research, extension and community services.”
This department has renounced recognition at National and international level since its inception. Under foreign collaboration research projects have been carried out.  Some of the faculties visited foreign countries for educational purposes. Many research projects have been financed by UGC, ICSSR, GUJCOST and other granting agencies. Doctoral guidance is being provided efficiently by the faculty members and about 160 Ph. D.s have been produced till to date. Many state level, National level and International level Seminars, Workshops and Conferences are being organized. Faculties of the Department are continuously involved in publication of books too.  Until the date about Hundred of books must have been published.
Department is also publishing its annual magazine “Samvad” regularly. One of the Faculty of the Department is also actively  involved  as an Editor-in-Chief in publication of a Multi Disciplinary International Peer Reviewed E-Journal and a KCG E-journal of Education with ISSN Numbers. Faculties of the Department are also publishing research papers and thematic articles in various National and International journals and Magazines.

Courses Offered

  1. Master of Education (M.Ed.)
  2. Master of Philosophy ( M.Phil.)
  3. Doctor of Philosophy ( Ph.D.)

Intake and Admission













Master of Education ( M. Ed. Granted )






Master of Education ( M. Ed. Self Financed)


2 Year



Fees : As per University Rules
Education Department is organizing 04 Memorial Lecture Series every year as mentioned below:

  1. Late Shri Ishwarlal Ichchharam Memorial Lecture Series.
  2. Late Shri Kalyanji Mehta Memorial Lecture Series.
  3. Late Shri Jaganbhai Patel Memorial Lecture Series.
  4. Late Shri C. C. Shah Memorial Lecture Series.
  5. Late Shri Kulin Pandya Memorial Lecture Series.

Education Department is regularly conducting Experts’ Lectures as well as Guests’ Lectures of various dignities form the various fields across the Nation. Department also invites special experts under U.G.C. exchange programme.
Prayer convention is an unique activity of this department. This is the only department on campus which is daily following prayer convention since the year 2000.
Education Department has its own Alumina with strength  of 200 students. Under the roof of  this Alumina the Department is carrying out two memorial lecture series named: 1) Late Sri Kulin Pandya Memorial Lecture Series and 2) Late Sri C. C. Shah  Memorial Lecture Series and also carrying out various Educational and Cultural activities every year.                                                                    
       Presently the Department offers M.Ed., M. Phil., and Ph. D. Programs in Education. The granted and self financed units of the Education Department have Five teachers in each. In the granted unit there are Three Professors and two Associate Professors under CAS. 
Geographical Location



Useful Links:


  1. NCTE
  2. NCTE-Western Region
  3. Teacher Education India Portal
  4. Gujarat Education Department
  5. Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD)
  7. International Institute for Educational Planning
  8. National University of Educational Planning and Administration (NUEPA)
  9. International Bureau of Education
  10. UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
  11. Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education
  12. Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS)
  13. Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan
  14. National Council for Teacher Education
  15. Open University UK
  16. Azim Premji Fundation
  17. Mid Day Meal Scheme
  18. Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan
  19. Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan
  20. Techpedia
  21. Khan Academy
  22. The Indian Association of Teacher Educators
  23. National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT)
  24. Higher Education
  25. University Grants Commission
  26. Delhi University
  27. Jawaharlal Nehru University
  28. Indira Gandhi National Open University
  29. CBSE
  30. The National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS)

NCTE Recognition Letters:
M.Ed. Grant-in Aid (Page:1, Page:2)
M.Ed. Self-Finance (Page:1, Page:2)


Contact us :
Dr. Rajendra B. Patel

Education Department
Phone No. : 0261-2203093, 2203094
EXT : 1093, 1094
FAX : 0261-2227312

E-Mail –